BOOK REVIEW – Midshipman Henry Gallant in Space

I was drawn to this book by the cover and title, expecting a good old fashioned space adventure. I also found the primary plot idea intriguing – a “natural” human having to prove himself among genetically advanced shipmates. Finally, when the description mentioned “for fans of Honor Harrington”, I was sold!

All too soon, my excitement turned to disappointment.

The book originally appeared in 2013 but is now in its fifth edition. It must be self-published, since a traditional publisher would never have released it in its current condition. I suspect the author re-released it with a new cover and some expensive marketing (how else can you explain 235 reviews?), but left the manuscript untouched. The book desperately needs to be edited, proofread and turned over to a team of beta readers.

This was Alesso’s first book and it shows. As a former scientist turned author, he heavily favored plot over characters, overwhelmed the reader with unnecessary techno-babble, and included trivialities which did nothing to further the story. As to genre, I have no problem categorizing it as science fiction, though the “science” it contains is actually fantasy. Most readers will ignore errors of this sort in favor of a good rousing story, but a number of disgruntled hard science fiction fans made note of it in the reviews. (Don’t get me started on that whole debate!)

Another let-down involved the central idea that the MC was a natural human, while all his shipmates were genetically enhanced. I expected this thread to have a far-reaching influence on the story from start to finish. It didn’t. Yes, it was mentioned from time to time, but the reader is never really told why it was important or how the MC miraculously turns out to be better at his job than everyone else. Great idea, but so poorly executed as to leave the reader wondering – is that it?

With such a shaky foundation, I find it incredible that the author is about to release book five in the series. Apparently, there are plenty of folks out there who disagree with me, willing to accept both the manuscript errors and clumsy storytelling. Of course, even a poor quality product can be successfully marketed – remember pet rocks? So I wish you luck, Henry Gallant, but you’ll have to conquer the universe without me.

####

Coming next week: looking back on my first two years as an author and hopes for the future.

August 21st – the first installment of Rise of the Draman book 4, Dragon Quest!!

Author: Alexander Elliott

Alexander Elliott lives in the upper Midwest and is the author of multiple books in science fiction, fantasy, paranormal, and romance. His work is replete with themes of love, passion, family, humor, hope, and acceptance. Good triumphs over evil, providing happier endings for his stories. When Alexander isn’t busy writing, you’ll find him enjoying a good soak in the tub, reading, cooking, giving to charity, or keeping up with his kids, grandkids, and extended family. He loves chocolate, insists on sending birthday cards, and considers himself an old-school Star Trek fan. While he is afraid of heights and hates exercise, he’s a loyal friend, neat housekeeper, and an enthusiastic grandpa. The author is known for masterful storytelling and phenomenal world-building. His books feature realistic, well-developed characters, emotional depth, sizzling romance, and all the adventure, action, and intrigue necessary for a great read. Alexander understands that real life can be discouraging and stressful. Reading allows him to get away from it all, and he invites you to join him. If you have enjoyed his work, he would love to hear from you! Email: aelliottbooks@gmail.com Website: https://aelliottbooks.com/

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW – Midshipman Henry Gallant in Space”

  1. I don’t understand how things like this happen. I’ve seen other books in (what I believe to be) similar shape, and people *buy* this stuff while ignoring books that are perfectly good. I’ve never published anything, but (in my humble opinion, granted) I think your sci-fi trilogy was quite readable and interesting (I guess one could argue that the obstacles were overcome with ‘too much talking and understanding,’ but those people didn’t go in expecting the right things). Do books like this frustrate you? Because it’d frustrate me.

    1. Frustrated? Sure! I resent authors who churn out garbage, market the crap out if it, and make lots of money. This kind of behavior paints all indie authors with the same brush. I would really love to be making more money with my books, but not at the expense of poor quality. If Mr. Alesso can sleep at night, well, good for him. I don’t want to be that kind of person…

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.